With one foot in the fantasy world.

The Story That Needs To Be Written

We are afraid of truth, afraid of fortune, afraid of death, and afraid of each other. Our age yields no great and perfect persons. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

 #Trust30 is an online initiative and 30-day writing challenge that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.  I have taken this challenge and responded to the first prompt.

You just discovered you have fifteen minutes to live.

1. Set a timer for fifteen minutes.

2. Write the story that has to be written.

My hair is not as glossy as it once was and my breathing is soft on the wind.  I will miss this world, but most of all I will miss her.  Since her birth, I have been there to watch over her and now I will never her see grow into a woman.  I will not forget her tiny hand on my face, even into the next world.  Her soft brown eyes beg me to stay.  How can I tell her to be strong, to let me go?  For it is my time and I am keen for the new adventure. 

“Please Dolly, don’t leave me,” she cried.

She buries her face in my hair and I worry if I have taught her enough about life.   Have I shown her how every moment is an opportunity to love and be loved.  And above all to follow her instincts. 

I must trust that I have done well and with my last breath, I lift my paw to pet her as she has done to me so many times before.

 Till next time,

Elizabeth

 

 

4 responses

  1. Sad, poignant, true. Soft paws, strong love. Beautifully written.

    June 1, 2011 at 4:05 am

  2. Elizabeth! Who would have thought to respond to the prompt from Dolly’s perspective on life and the hereafter. You really surprised me. The beauty lies in the extended metaphor, I find myself going back and forth between wanting to experience the story through the author and her alter ego perhaps? I love the painterly background of your blog and the landscape at the top! That sun so brilliant and yet defuse, lovely! Thank you for visiting my blog as well! I’ll be back 😉 Judith

    June 1, 2011 at 4:13 pm

  3. Shelley,

    Thank you for taking the time to post. Always love to hear what you have to say.

    Elizabeth

    June 1, 2011 at 4:52 pm

  4. Judith,

    Thank you for seeing the metaphor in the story. I was worried it was too short to convey the message.

    I’m pleased you like my paintings. The background is called “Alice.” (as in Wonderland.)

    Elizabeth

    June 1, 2011 at 4:57 pm

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

