With one foot in the fantasy world.

Just Do It

The Insecure Writer’s Support Group

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Today is the first Wednesday of the month which means it’s time for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. This is Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh’s brain child for writers to share and encourage, to express doubts and concerns without appearing foolish or weak. Cool, eh?

Well, I wanted to be finished with my 2nd draft, or is it the 3rd draft of my wip by the end of February. That didn’t happen. I could list excuses the length of Naomi Campbell’s legs, but I won’t.

But, I will say that my habit of reading great books while I’m trying to finish mine gets a little hairy. After reading let’s say a Maggie Stiefvater book, I’m liable to pull a little hair out from its secure roots wondering how did she twist my heart around her characters. Then I’m back to the keys, not Key West, but the keyboard and trying to plunge forward to get back into my book. Yikes.

I have a pact with my critique buddies that we will finish our stories and make queries. We made the pact late last year with the end date in June. One of my buds already has a contract with a publisher for a book date in the fall. Awesome and spectacular. My other bud is about ready to start submitting. And then there’s me. LOL.

Like Paul Masson, who will not sell his wine before its time, I want my story to be at its best before sending it out in the world. So, I will wait, work and cultivate my wip until it’s ready. Still, I need a deadline, so March 31st is the date I will be working towards to finish my wip. Wish me luck.

Before I go, let me leave you with a fun and inspiring video that one of my buddies thought I needed.

What do you struggle with in your writing? How do you resolve it?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…


Till next time,
Elizabeth

16 responses

  1. Elizabeth,

    I feel your pain! My WIP was supposed to be finished by the end of the year. I’m fighting through the second draft, paralyzed by the idea of making it perfect. And like you, I won’t let go of it until I’m certain it’s as perfect as I can make it.

    I think my biggest struggle as a writer is with my internal editor. (She gives me a fair amount of grief in everything, not just writing.) I can shush her pretty effectively on the first draft, because that’s not supposed to be perfect.

    On subsequent drafts, Lynn has me taking the revisions piece meal. Fix this one thing. And that helps, but I keep catching myself, fingers hovering over the keyboard, frozen, as I hunt for that perfect word.

    Thank you for sharing. I loved the pep talk. 🙂

    February 27, 2013 at 1:09 am

    • Samantha,
      I understand your need to make it as perfect as possible because you have already set a precedent with your fabulous first book. But, tell your internal editor, “Hey, I’ve done this before. I can do it again and again and again.” I have faith in you finding the perfect word and finishing your draft. You go girl!

      February 27, 2013 at 1:59 am

  2. (Methinks someone forgot to blogger-schedule the right date on their post…)

    It’s great to hear of your friend’s success. Getting a publishing contract is wonderful, and it should inspire you! Keep at your story until you feel it’s ready. Then you’ll be much more confident when you query. 🙂

    February 28, 2013 at 4:44 am

  3. Lexacain, I thought I was on time and so proud of myself. And lo and behold, I’m so on time I’m a week early. hahahaha

    I agree about waiting. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

    February 28, 2013 at 2:46 pm

  4. Hi, I have such a very long way to go, and I am so happy to have started towards the bottom of my list for this hop today to save your page to refer to all of those wonderful links you have provided. So many helpful things that I need to read as I travel along on my own journey. I feel totally confident!! This morning anyway! Lol! Thank you, and I enjoyed your post very much! sandysanderellasmusings

    March 6, 2013 at 3:56 pm

  5. Sandra, what a sweet thing to say. You have made me feel so good. 🙂 BTW, I enjoyed your post too.

    March 6, 2013 at 5:14 pm

  6. cluculzwriter

    I think your process of reading while writing is perfect. How else do we learn to make our prose sing than to study how our mentors do it? I’m struggling with WIP #… 6, I think. I refuse to give up, even if it takes another year. Yes, I’m as slow as molasses, BUT I’m also stubborn. Sounds like you are, too. Happy IWSG, Lexa!

    March 6, 2013 at 5:37 pm

  7. Turns out I’m a very slow writer, and what with the job and family responsibilities, I’ve missed my self-imposed deadline for finishing my story the last two Decembers in a row. My new deadline is next Christmas, but we’ll see how that goes. It’s enough to make anyone insecure.

    March 6, 2013 at 5:59 pm

  8. Hi! I’m so glad I went back to this weeks post of yours. The video is amazing. Thanks so much for sharing it. It is great to have such a pep talk as that one. I hope it encouraged you! It’s nice to meet you.

    March 6, 2013 at 8:24 pm

  9. Lexa,

    You are so right. Reading is the best way to learn about writing.

    My fav quote is, “Never give up. Never surrender.” So, no matter how long it takes you and I will continue to work on our WIP till they are ripe for reading. Good luck.

    March 7, 2013 at 12:42 am

  10. ChemistKen, Keep going. It’s not how fast you write, it’s that you finish. Although, that might change in the future when you are under contract to finish by a certain deadline. It will happen. 🙂

    March 7, 2013 at 12:44 am

  11. Chancelet, I’m glad you enjoyed the video. Makes you want to do awesome stuff, right?
    Thanks for dropping by and nice to meet you to. 🙂

    March 7, 2013 at 12:47 am

  12. I always seem to be behind in my writing, even though I write every day! Nothing ever goes as quickly as I would like it to. 🙂 I just keep plugging along, a little each day. Good luck with your WIP!

    March 7, 2013 at 4:49 am

  13. Camille, That’s all we can do is to keep plugging away each day. Thank you and good luck with your writing and your books.

    March 7, 2013 at 1:42 pm

  14. You can’t compare yourself to others. The fact is one book of yours may take more effort to complete than another one does. It takes as long as it takes. So keep writing/revising.

    March 7, 2013 at 10:29 pm

    • It’s true what you say and thank you for reminding me. I appreciate it. 🙂

      March 7, 2013 at 10:40 pm

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

