With one foot in the fantasy world.

Review of Writing Active Setting Book 2 by Mary Buckham

Writing Active Setting Book 2Writing Active Setting:Book 2 by Mary Buckham

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Let’s be honest here, as a reader have you skipped over descriptions of settings because the passages seemed like they belong to another story or they were simply boring. But, most of all they took you out of the story. Those reasons could spell disaster for a writer and their story.

Are you writing settings merely to place your characters for your readers? I admit I have. But, I found a remedy with Mary Buckham’s Active Settings Book 1 and 2. Mary is spot on with her techniques and guides you with examples from recent popular authors. She makes you see the difference of a mediocre description of setting to one that’s holy moley is that how it’s done.

Here is the table of contents for Book 2:
1. Using setting to show emotion
2. Using setting to create complication
3. Using setting to show backstory.

With the techniques in this book and the first, I know how to make settings do double and triple duty.

I admit taking a class with Mary you are never the same as when you started. We’re talking about breakthroughs, here. She pushes you to be your best. But, if you can’t take her class get the book. I can’t get enough of her teaching so I got both.

View all my reviews

10 responses

  1. Thanks for the tip on the book. Setting is a bug-a-boo for me. Sounds like this book can help.

    March 15, 2013 at 1:54 pm

  2. Thanks for dropping by my blog, Elizabeth! Lovely to meet you. Thanks for the review. Sounds like i need to get myself a copy of this book. new follower here!
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

    March 15, 2013 at 4:30 pm

  3. Connie, you will love this book. Appreciate you dropping by. 🙂

    March 15, 2013 at 10:31 pm

  4. Nutschell, wheeee. Love that you’re a new follwer. 🙂

    March 15, 2013 at 10:32 pm

  5. Elizabeth ~ wow! and thank you a trillion. Tickled pink you find the book’s insights helpful and here’s hoping you have fun applying them to your great story!! Cheers ~~ Mary B 🙂

    March 16, 2013 at 8:43 pm

  6. Mary, my pleasure of course. Considering all that I’ve learned from you, the least I could do was to point other writers to you and your books. 🙂

    March 16, 2013 at 10:35 pm

  7. Great review of the best writing instructor I know. I never doubt a thing from Mary Buckham! This will be yet another of Mary’s gems that I’ll need in my writer’s toolbox.

    March 16, 2013 at 11:21 pm

  8. Ginger, thank you. I agree with you about never doubting a thing from Mary. I’m feel special having taken her classes. 🙂

    March 17, 2013 at 4:53 am

  9. Fabulous, what a website it is! This blog presents helpful facts
    to us, keep it up.

    April 9, 2013 at 10:57 am

  10. It’s very easy to find out any matter on net as compared to books, as I found this piece of writing at this website.

    May 2, 2013 at 11:59 pm

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

