With one foot in the fantasy world.

Today is Carpe Diem Day!

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9Camp-NaNoWriMo-2013-Lantern-Square-Button-resizie

I don’t think I know anyone who wasn’t profoundly moved by the film “The Dead Poet’s Society.”  This film gets high marks for characters and story.   I want to share with you that moment when Robin William’s character is expressing to his students the importance of seizing the day while we may.  Carpe Diem!

 

What are you doing to seize the day?  For me, I’m continuing on my journey of writing to reach my goal of 30,000 words by the end of the month.  So far, I have reached 2159.  On target.

The next video is long and maybe you can’t watch it now but try sometime to view it.  It will uplift your spirit and point you in the direction you may have thought impossible.  It’s the last lecture of Randy Pausch, a MIT Professor.  In this particular video, he talks about achieving your childhood dreams.  It’s funny, endearing and very profound.  After watching this wonderful man, I hope you will walk away with bounce to your step and a renewed passion in your heart.

 

Thanks to the A to Z challenge promoters for this challenge.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

There’s more…

Because it’s also the first Wednesday in the month and that means it’s IWSG day. Whew! I need a stiff drink or at least a chance to catch my breath.

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Ahhhh.

How much passion fills your day?  Physical, mental or spiritual?  What has this to do with writing you ask?  I believe all the great books are written with great passion that comes pouring out from the writer’s soul.  The passionate writer is driven to say what’s in his heart.  I’m not talking about preaching because that’s a quick way to lose your reader.  The passion I’m talking about comes from your beliefs about the world and about showing your soul and your vulnerabilities to the world through your characters and their conflicts and how they transform.

How can you uncover this passion within you?  Well, because I’m a work in progress myself, I would say one of the first steps is discovering how amazing you really are.  Look at the things that block you from being your true authentic self.  Write about it in a journal.  Create a vision and look for those aha moments.  It’s a start.

Till next time,

Elizabeth

Thanks to Alex Cavanaugh for this challenge

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

19 responses

  1. I’m here for the IWSG, but couldn’t help watch the Dead Poets clip. I love that film so much, but I struggle to find anyone who’s watched it! I agree passion has to be the driving force behind your writing – it’s what keeps it authentic.

    April 3, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    • That’s the word…authentic. Not being afraid to show and be you are takes courage and a deep desire to connect with our passion.

      Annalisa, what is your website?

      April 4, 2013 at 2:57 am

  2. I’ve not heard of the IWSG so your blog has been inspirational on several levels. I found you through the Blogging A to Z challenge. I’m an aspiring mystery writer and am impressed that you have completed (several times) the NaNoWriMo. I need more discipline, for sure. And, if my pup Hershey would get out and get a paper route, perhaps I wouldn’t have to work so hard at my “other” job. 😉 If you get a chance, drop by my blog at http://www.dianeweidenbenner.com

    April 3, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    • Hershey will get into the routine eventually. Yup, I finished two Nano and going for three, I should be bald by the end.

      Love your photos of flowers on your site.

      April 4, 2013 at 3:01 am

  3. Brianna Soloski

    I’m seizing the day by working and then coming home to write a few hundred words. My daily goal is 1000. I squeezed in 399 earlier, so that leaves me 600 or so to meet goal.

    April 3, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    • You go Brianna!

      April 4, 2013 at 3:01 am

      • Brianna Soloski

        I didn’t get any words written. :(. I’m hoping today is better. I did manage to write 399 before I went to work so the day wasn’t a total loss.

        April 4, 2013 at 2:26 pm

  4. karen walker

    I did love that movie and its sentiment. I am trying to seize moments each day.

    April 3, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    • If at the end of the you have seize moments how glorious is that? 🙂

      April 4, 2013 at 3:03 am

  5. DPS – Great movie. Great scene. You can feel their hearts sink when RW says the line “these boys are all fertilizing daffodils.” Storytelling at its finest.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    April 3, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    • I know – great scene!

      April 4, 2013 at 3:04 am

  6. Nice post! Inspirational!
    HMG

    April 3, 2013 at 10:56 pm

    • Thank you Heather. And thanks for stopping by.

      April 4, 2013 at 3:04 am

  7. Maribeth

    I’m embarrassed to say I have never watched this film. I’ve heard a lot about it but never watched it. I hope to change that soon. Thank you for an inspirational post. Carpe Diem!
    Maribeth

    April 3, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    • I’m glad I gave you a taste of this wonderful film.

      April 4, 2013 at 3:05 am

  8. I try to make every day matter, life can change too quickly not to. Great post.

    April 4, 2013 at 12:13 am

    • How true! So seize the day while ye may. Thanks for stopping by.

      April 4, 2013 at 3:06 am

  9. I haven’t seen Dead Poets’ Society in so many years, I really need to revisit!

    April 4, 2013 at 6:43 am

  10. DPS is such a great film.
    Look at those kids. Most of them ended up in some great films later on in their career.
    Carpe Diem? we need to Carpe the next 26 days at least 🙂

    April 4, 2013 at 9:13 pm

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

