With one foot in the fantasy world.

Writing Can Be Hell and Hard

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9Camp-NaNoWriMo-2013-Lantern-Square-Button-resizie

“Somedays you get the bear and somedays the bear gets you,” as Riker of NGST would say.  It feels like that when I’m writing.  On good days, I slay the bear and do the dance.  Bad days?  Well, you get the idea.  The bear stomps on me.

 

riker1

“Tomorrow may be hell, but today was a good writing day, and on the good writing days nothing else matters.”

― Neil Gaiman

To that I say amen and thank you!  Of course, when there are too many hard days reaching the finish line seems like an impossible task.

“The hard part about writing a novel is finishing it.”

― Ernest Hemingway

But finish it we must because that’s who we are.  Ready to pour our life blood into our stories and fill them with the passion that in is our souls.

“History will be kind to me for I intend to write it.”

― Winston Churchill

What say you?

Till next time,

Elizabeth

Thanks to the folks who brought us the A to Z Challenge.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

15 responses

  1. Ah yes! My fave quote was

    “The hard part about writing a novel is finishing it.”

    ― Ernest Hemingway

    I wrote similar in ‘giving up’ although not about writing… Still, I think it’s a writers’ curse!

    April 9, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    • LOL. I agree. Thanks for stopping by.

      April 9, 2013 at 4:49 pm

  2. A great Riker quote and a brilliant analogy Elizabeth

    April 9, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    • Thank you, Maurice. I looked for your blog and couldn’t find it. Come on back, I want to visit your blog too.

      April 9, 2013 at 4:51 pm

  3. A great Riker quote and a brilliant analogy Elizabeth
    – Maurice Mitchell
    The Geek Twins | Film Sketchr

    April 9, 2013 at 2:34 pm

  4. So true.

    April 9, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    • Thanks for visiting Beth.

      April 9, 2013 at 4:51 pm

  5. I know what you mean about that old bear. I slayed one recently however when I collected the top prize in a writing contest. Small victories are still victories.

    April 9, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    • Way to go, Joe! Wining is wining, whatever the size, however it comes. Yahoo for you!

      April 9, 2013 at 6:30 pm

  6. great post Elizabeth thank you! Yikes, it is hard but sooo satisfying when the muse speaks! Nothing else matters! Not even a bad ‘hair’ day ..

    April 9, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    • It does feeeeeeel good. I’m not so sure about bad ‘hair’ days they can be pretty mean.

      April 9, 2013 at 6:31 pm

  7. Oh, my. I have that same picture of Riker tucked into one of my Star Trek magazines. I loved him! 🙂

    Great quotes – thanks for sharing them. 🙂

    April 9, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    • Me too. Love how he entered and left a room with his John Wayne walk. Yoozer!

      April 9, 2013 at 6:33 pm

  8. Amen to all of these. Keep writing! 🙂
    Happy A to Z!

    April 11, 2013 at 7:57 pm

  9. Great quote from Hemingway. He did come out with some great stuff didn’t he? Happy writing. This must be a really tough act juggling the A to Z and Camping at the same time. Good luck with it all. 🙂

    April 20, 2013 at 10:33 am

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

