With one foot in the fantasy world.

Juggling Jugglers

This is not my usual inspirational quotes but a look at Shakespeare.  But now that I think of it he is down right inspirational.  Have a look at his use of the word jugglers, juggled and juggling.

shakespeare

“The Comedy of Errors”, I.ii.96, Antipholus of Syracuse:
They say this town is full of cozenage,
As, nimble jugglers that deceive the eye,
Dark-working sorcerers that change the mind,
Soul-killing witches that deform the body,
Disguised cheaters, prating mountebanks,
And many such-like liberties of sin:
If it prove so, I will be gone the sooner.
I’ll to the Centaur, to go seek this slave:
I greatly fear my money is not safe.

 
“The Comedy of Errors”, V.i.237, Antipholus of Ephesus:
Along with them
They brought one Pinch, a hungry lean-faced villain,
A mere anatomy, a mountebank,
A threadbare juggler and a fortune-teller,
A needy, hollow-eyed, sharp-looking wretch,
A dead-looking man: this pernicious slave,
Forsooth, took on him as a conjurer,
And, gazing in mine eyes, feeling my pulse,
And with no face, as ’twere, outfacing me,
Cries out, I was possess’d.

 
“Hamlet”, IV.v.128, Laertes:
How came he dead? I’ll not be juggled with:
To hell, allegiance! vows, to the blackest devil!

 
“King Henry IV, Part II”, II.iv.121, Doll Tearsheet:
Away, you cut-purse rascal! you filthy bung, away!
by this wine, I’ll thrust my knife in your mouldy
chaps, an you play the saucy cuttle with me. Away,
you bottle-ale rascal! you basket-hilt stale
juggler, you!

 
“King Henry VI, Part I”, V.iv.68, York:
She and the Dauphin have been juggling:
I did imagine what would be her refuge.

 
“King Henry VIII”, I.iii.1, Chamberlain:
Is’t possible the spells of France should juggle
Men into such strange mysteries?

 
“Macbeth”, V.viii.19, Macbeth:
And be these juggling fiends no more believed,
That palter with us in a double sense;
That keep the word of promise to our ear,
And break it to our hope.

 
“A Midsummer Night’s Dream”, III.ii.285, Hermia:
O me! you juggler! you canker-blossom!
You thief of love! what, have you come by night
And stolen my love’s heart from him?
“Troilus and Cressida”, II.iii.68, Thersites:
Here is such patchery, such juggling and such
knavery! all the argument is a cuckold and a
whore; a good quarrel to draw emulous factions
and bleed to death upon.

 
“Troilus and Cressida”, V.ii.23:
Cressida: In faith, I cannot: what would you have me do?
Thersites: A juggling trick,–to be secretly open

 

Thanks to the folks who brought us the A to Z Challenge.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…


Till next time,
Elizabeth

Still 500 words behind on Campnano.
The quotes were brilliantly gathered by Steve Ness

5 responses

  1. Wow, you did a lot of work and what a great job you did!
    Dani @ Entertaining Interests
    #warriorminion

    April 11, 2013 at 11:29 am

  2. What a fun post! I loved reading the excerpts.

    Stopping by from the A-Z and I’m so glad to meet you!

    April 11, 2013 at 3:32 pm

  3. So great Elizabeth thank you! How you manage to juggle and jiggle and get these quotes transcribed onto your blog is beyond me though you do credit Steve Ness. What an emotive word ‘juggle’ is . .. who would have known?
    Susan Scott’s Soul Stuff

    April 11, 2013 at 4:00 pm

  4. Once again, Shakespeare puts us all in our place. What a fantastic examination of one word’s use. I feel like I fail the beauty of our language when I realize how much Shakespeare managed with these same words I have been given!

    Also, 500 words behind in CampNaNoWriMo is what I aspire to! You go girl!!

    April 11, 2013 at 9:12 pm

  5. Oh, how good. I should have known! Be sure to check out the juggler at my blog for a good laugh…..

    April 12, 2013 at 1:06 am

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

