With one foot in the fantasy world.

Night

Nótt, the personification of night in Norse mythology, rides her horse in this 19th-century painting by Peter Nicolai Arbo.

Nótt, the personification of night in Norse mythology, rides her horse in this 19th-century painting by Peter Nicolai Arbo.

 

Night is a lonely creature who demands my presence.   She sulks in the shadows if I have no secrets of the day for her.  But for every secret I place in her dark folds, she opens my eyes to magic not possible to witness in the brightness of the day.

 

“I read and walked for miles at night along the beach, writing bad blank verse and searching endlessly for someone wonderful who would step out of the darkness and change my life. It never crossed my mind that that person could be me.” –Anna Quindlen

 

“Writing is like driving at night in the fog. You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.”  ― E.L. Doctorow

 

“At night, when the objective world has slunk back into its cavern and left dreamers to their own, there come inspirations and capabilities impossible at any less magical and quiet hour. No one knows whether or not he is a writer unless he has tried writing at night.” ― H.P. Lovecraft

 

“I love the silent hour of night, for blissful dreams may then arise, revealing to my charmed sight what may not bless my waking eyes.” ― Anne Brontë, Best Poems of the Brontë Sisters

 

“Melancholy were the sounds on a winter’s night.” ― Virginia Woolf, Jacob’s Room: The Shakespeare Head Press Editon of Virgina Woolf

 

“There were once two sisters who were not afraid of the dark because the dark was full of the other’s voice across the room, because even when the night was thick and starless they walked home together from the river seeing who could last the longest without turning on her flashlight, not afraid because sometimes in the pitch of night they’d lie on their backs in the middle of the path and look up until the stars came back and when they did, they’d reach their arms up to touch them and did.” ― Jandy Nelson, The Sky Is Everywhere

 

“We sat in the car & the night dropped down until the only sounds were the crickets & the dance of our voices & for a moment the world became small enough to roll back & forth between us.” ― Brian Andreas, Hearing Voices – Collected Stories & Drawings

 

“The sky grew darker, painted blue on blue, one stroke at a time, into deeper and deeper shades of night.” ― Haruki Murakami, Dance Dance Dance

 

“And the night shall be filled with music, And the cares, that infest the day, Shall fold their tents like the Arabs, and silently steal away.” ― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

 

“The world rests in the night. Trees, mountains, fields, and faces are released from the prison of shape and the burden of exposure. Each thing creeps back into its own nature within the shelter of the dark. Darkness is the ancient womb. Nighttime is womb- time. Our souls come out to play. The darkness absolves everything; the struggle for identity and impression falls away. We rest in the night.” ― John O’Donohue, Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom

 

“I’ve just been bitten on the neck by a vampire… mosquito. Does that mean that when the night comes I will rise and be annoying?” ― Vera Nazarian

 

##

Does the night whisper or call to you?  And what does she ask of you?

Till next time, Elizabeth

I’d like to thank the folks who brought us the A to Z Challange.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

4 responses

  1. Night is my friend 🙂 Ever since I was a baby I’ve been a night owl. Unfortunately “real life” has squished me into this unnatural “early rising” shape. It still doesn’t feel right though.

    April 16, 2013 at 1:40 am

  2. I love the night, it whispers to me too 🙂 Plus all the thoughts buzzing in my head during the day are less abstract at night…things seem to take shape more.

    April 16, 2013 at 12:06 pm

  3. That’s beautiful – thanks for sharing, Elizabeth. Sadly, these days nights mean insomnia to me; only because I regularly forget to take my magnesium 🙂 -Belinda (hope to see you at MROP soon)

    April 16, 2013 at 4:56 pm

  4. That was beautiful.
    I love how night whispers to me while writing.

    April 16, 2013 at 9:05 pm

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

