With one foot in the fantasy world.

Twin Peaks Procrastination and Perfectionism

to do list

On a daily basis something gets in my way, crap, I have to go to the loo.

Okay where was I?  I have to have a list because if I don’t I’m all over the place.  Like write 1000 words, revise the other stuff, art stuff, email stuff, blog stuff and just stuff.  Plus at the end of the day, I can see whether I’ve goofed off  accomplished my goals or not.

There’s another benefit of strike-throughing an item off the list, but I can’t remember what it is.  You see it doesn’t take much to get me off track.  Anyway, I went to see Dr. DeGeneres about my dare I say it, don’t say it, dilemma, hoping for help.

 

 

I believe the mirror image to procrastination is perfectionism. They feed each other by devouring our dreams.  Kick them out.  How?  Set priorities, keep one eye on the goal and then fly.

 

“Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor, the enemy of the people. It will keep you cramped and insane your whole life, and it is the main obstacle between you and a shitty first draft. I think perfectionism is based on the obsessive belief that if you run carefully enough, hitting each stepping-stone just right, you won’t have to die. The truth is that you will die anyway and that a lot of people who aren’t even looking at their feet are going to do a whole lot better than you, and have a lot more fun while they’re doing it.” ― Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

Till next time, Elizabeth

Thanks to the folks who brought us the A to Z Challenge  

Powered by Linky Tools Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

8 responses

  1. Great quote–I read Bird by Bird a long time ago but you’re reminding me that it’s worth rereading every so often, as the perfectionism definitely sneaks up on me and I find myself in a rut again. I love what you said too–set priorities, one eye on the goal and fly.

    April 18, 2013 at 2:45 am

    • I must admits I have to tap myself on the shoulder to remind myself to stop certain behaviours that creep up when I’m not looking. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      April 18, 2013 at 8:57 pm

  2. Love the post Elizabeth thank you! And the thought that procrastination is mirror to perfectionism, plus Anne Lamott’s quote. Food for thought …
    I have trouble finding those lists sometimes. Will watch the ED clip – later!
    Susan Scott’s Soul Stuff

    April 18, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    • Glad it’s food for thought because from there great things happen.

      April 18, 2013 at 8:59 pm

  3. Procrastination and perfectionism are my middle and last names. I can so totally relate to what Ellen was saying in her clip. You presented the issues very well and I did chuckle. Thank you!

    April 18, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    • Ha! So glad you got a chuckle. Thank you again for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      April 18, 2013 at 9:00 pm

  4. Ellen’s bit is really funny, although that sounds more like ADD than procrastination. heh

    April 18, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    • It’s possibly a little of both. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      April 18, 2013 at 9:02 pm

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

