With one foot in the fantasy world.

Spirituality

AlchemistPaulo Coelho, author of the The Alchemist, is one of my favorite writers.  In his fable story there are simple, but profound lessons to discover about life and the quest of the heart.   It doesn’t mater how many time I revisit Coelho’s book, I am amazed how another new lesson seems to pop up for me.  As if it lay hidden until I was ready to listen.   It’s a spiritual book, maybe even magical,  about learning to listen to your heart, looking for signs along the way and as Joseph Campbell would say “Follow your bliss.”

This video is short of Coelho talking about his thoughts on spirituality.

 

 

“My heart is afraid that it will have to suffer,” the boy told the alchemist one night as they looked up at the moonless sky.” Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself. And that no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams.” Alchemist

Till next time,

Elizabeth

Thanks to the folks who brought us the A to Z Challenge

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 responses

  1. This is so lovely Elizabeth thank you and a privilege to watch Paulo Coelho, let alone read his fabulous stories. I too learn something new every time I peek into them again and as you say a new lesson at the right time.
    Susan Scott’s Soul Stuff

    April 22, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    • and I meant to say thank you!

      April 22, 2013 at 2:36 pm

      • It is I who must say the thanks. Your comments bring a smile to my face. You know the kind when you see a dear friend. 🙂

        April 23, 2013 at 2:33 am

    • Yes, I’m always looking for the signs. When you are ready a teacher will appear.

      April 23, 2013 at 2:31 am

  2. Brianna Soloski

    Very inspiring! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    April 22, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    • I’m glad you liked it. And thank you for stopping by and commenting it means a lot to me.

      April 23, 2013 at 2:34 am

      • Brianna Soloski

        My pleasure. I always appreciate when people comment on my blog and I like to return the favor for others.

        April 23, 2013 at 5:04 am

  3. Coehlo is one of my favorite authors. I bought The Alchemist for everyone in my family because I though it was such a groundbreaking book. 🙂

    April 22, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    • It funny how the simplest story can have the most profound affect. Learning about you through the A to Z, presenting everyone in your family with the book sounds like something you would do. Share the light. Again, I appreciate you stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      April 23, 2013 at 2:38 am

  4. This sounds like a beautiful book, another one to add to my list.

    Have fun with a-z.

    April 23, 2013 at 12:36 am

    • It is a beautiful book and I hope you have time for it. Enjoyed your blog on children’s tv shows. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      April 23, 2013 at 2:40 am

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

