With one foot in the fantasy world.

Break a rule and win!

As a writer, I often hear, when writing do it this way because this is the proven method.  Fail to do that and you lose.  Argh!  That makes my skin itch raw.  Sure there are rules to follow and break, but holy moley they’re not meant to lordy over us.

I watched a short video (2:24) with Jack Canfield, co-creator of the Chicken for the Soul book series, talking about a farmer who won a long distance race.  This was the first race ever for the 61 year old and he didn’t know the rules.  He wore boots, overalls and a cap for six long days.  He didn’t know squat about long distance racing such as you race during the day and sleep at night rule.  He raced non-stop during those six days.

He won!  He won because he went after something he really wanted to do.   What rules can you leave by the way-side and come up winning?

To view the video go here:

http://www.videosmotivational.com/best-clips/law-of-attraction-videos/farmer-runs-a-marathon-the-true-story-of-cliff-young//

Till next time,

Elizabeth

5 responses

  1. Brianna Soloski

    Good for that farmer! I wish I were more gutsy when it came to achieving my dreams and goals. I feel like I’m always being shot down or told no by someone and it really makes it difficult to have any confidence in myself, knowing that others don’t have confidence in me.

    May 4, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    • Brianna, stick with the friends that bolster you up, help and guide you. Life and writing is hard enough without having our so-called friends stomping on our dreams.

      Now, I’m not talking about constructive criticisim, which as writers we need to continually improve. Criticism that simply says this work sucks isn’t helpful and is more hurtful than anything. There is a level of trust that is needed between a writer and a critique partner. We’re trusting our work that we have labored over to someone who we want an honest feedback from that is supportive, that will make our work better. And most of all, not tear us down.

      Each day is a new day allowing us to create a new beginning and let go of anything wounding us. Each day let go of those who have hurt you and disappointed you. Take little steps each day to build your confidence that comes from yourself and not given to you by someone else. You will build self-reliance and not have to wait for a good word from anyone but yourself. I say these things to you, but I also say them to myself.

      Elizabeth
      PS: I believe in you, my friend.

      May 5, 2013 at 2:19 pm

      • Brianna Soloski

        Elizabeth,

        I cannot tell you how much I appreciate this comment. I don’t have a good critique partner. I wish I did, though. I got decent feedback from a couple of other writers that has helped me a little, but I need more. I know I do.

        I see so many people around me having success (not just at writing) and it’s so hard to be happy for them when I feel like such a failure. It’s hard to continue being friends with someone when they only need you when they’re having a hard time. What about when I’m having a hard time? Who do I get to call?

        It’s so hard lately…

        May 5, 2013 at 4:24 pm

  2. susanscottsa

    Hey Elizabeth! Will view the video at some other stage. Late here in Johannesburg and flipping freezing and my bed and bath calls.
    Great advice to Brianna. What you said to her is what I also say to myself. Don’t be defined by what others think or feel about you. Be yourself at all times. This is the greatest gift to anyone, and to one’s self.
    Thank you.

    May 5, 2013 at 7:06 pm

  3. I think that rules are guidelines. If we were to follow them to the last… then it would stifle creativity.
    I think the trick is discovering which ones to bend and which ones to break…

    Writer In Transit

    May 8, 2013 at 2:10 pm

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

