With one foot in the fantasy world.

Moonlit Blog Tour and Giveaway

JadieBookCover Moonlit

I’d like to introduce you to Jadi Jones, author of Moonlit a YA Fantasy.  It is a delightful story that will keep you reading to the last page.   Jadie has stopped here on her Blog Tour presented by WOW, Women On Writing.  Jadie explains how she weaved her passion of horses into Moonlit.

“Write what you know.” I’ve heard this piece of advice more times than I can count. But when I wrote the first draft of Moonlit, I minimized the appearance of horses, worried that it would scare off non-horsey readers. My main character Tanzy Hightower began her journey at her father’s farm, and then they never made an encore appearance.

After I felt like I had a solid draft, I sent it to a friend I went to high school with, who edits for a legal publisher, and asked for her opinion. She’s about as non-horsey as you get. Her feedback: you need to weave horses more into your story. You really found your voice in the scene with horses. I was surprised, and initially reluctant to take her advice. How will I incorporate horses more without bogging down the story? Then it hit me: Horses were Tanzy’s heart… what if they were somehow in her blood… literally? This eureka moment reshaped the entire arch of Tanzy’s journey, and Moonlit is so much better for it.

Horses have been a lifelong passion of mine. I’ve worked as a barn manager, a trainer and coach, an exercise rider, a groom, and more. We didn’t have a lot of money growing up, so I paid for most of my horse related activities through barn labor, and rode anything they would put me on. This upbringing carried over into Tanzy’s personality, and shaped her calloused hands and can-do personality. Even now, as I edit the sequel to Moonlit, I work out plot tangles in the saddle, and seek refuge in the sights, sounds, and scents of the farm where I work.

 

Synopsis:

Eighteen-year-old Tanzy Hightower knows horses, has grown up with them on Wildwood Farm. She also knows not to venture beyond the trees that line the pasture. Things happen out there that can’t be explained. Or undone. Worse, no one but she and the horses can see what lurks in the shadows of the woods.

When a moonlit ride turns into a terrifying chase, Tanzy is left to question everything, from the freak accident that killed her father to the very blood in her veins. Broken and confused, she turns to Lucas, a scarred, beautiful stranger, and to Vanessa, a charming new friend who has everything Tanzy doesn’t.

But why do they seem to know more about her than she knows herself? Is she really Tanzy? Or someone new? Was she ever Tanzy? And how will she choose between the many realities she’s coming to know?

 

About the Author: Moonlit

Jadie Jones has been dreaming about being an author since she wrote her first book in the seventh grade in a black and white composition tablet, of course. But life happens…jobs, husband, baby. Jadie has that magical time known as naptime to thank for Moonlit. Because, when all was quiet in the house (with the exception of the washer humming in the background) Jadie could hear Tanzy, who she thought she had long ago relegated to past dreams, calling to her. And one day Jadie pulled out a pen and answered. The result was Moonlit.

Author’s Websites:                                                  

Jadie Jones’ blog:

www.jadiejones.blogspot.com

Twitter:

www.twitter.com/jadiejones1

Facebook:

www.facebook.com/jadiejones5

 GIVEAWAY

Leave a comment on how you put passion into your stories or why you think passion helps a story soar and win a PDF of Moonlit.

Till next time,

Elizabeth

23 responses

  1. Brianna Soloski

    My favorite way to put passion into my stories is to set them in a place I love. A lot of my stories begin in other places, but my characters always end up in Lake Tahoe, a place that’s really important to me. I’ve even set entire stories there and in the surrounding area because I love it so much.

    May 20, 2013 at 2:45 am

    • A place can evoke so many feelings, dig up the past whether good or bad. I can understand your love for Lake Tahoe it’s an enchanting place. I recently discovered in answering question about why I’m writing my story with Chinese culture and mythology infused into it, is because I’m rediscovering my late father who I really never knew. Amazing the things we discover in writing. Thanks again for commenting.

      May 20, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      • Brianna Soloski

        Chinese mythology fascinates me, much more so than Greek mythology. It’s so cool that writing your book has led you to learn more about your father.

        May 21, 2013 at 1:35 am

  2. Brianna Soloski

    P.S. Forgot to say, Moonlit sounds awesome!

    May 20, 2013 at 2:47 am

    • Well, you’re going to find out how wonderful this book is and maybe you’ll write a review for it. 🙂 hint, hint.

      May 20, 2013 at 10:17 pm

      • Brianna Soloski

        Of course. I’m buried by books right now, but I will definitely review it.

        May 21, 2013 at 1:35 am

  3. The cover is just lovely and would make me pick it up in bookstore. Wishing Jadie much success! 🙂

    May 20, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    • I don’t have the experience that Jadie has with horses, but I certainly love them, especially their spirit. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I hope you enjoy the book, as I will be sending it to you.

      May 20, 2013 at 10:20 pm

  4. Thank you so much for having me! I can’t wait to see what other people are passionate about 🙂

    May 20, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    • Jadie, it is my pleasure to have you here. Your book is a gem and I love hearing how you made it shine.

      May 20, 2013 at 10:23 pm

  5. I love hearing how one little thought can completely change a story. Sometimes that’s all it takes.

    May 20, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    • It is amazing how that happens. At first, we resist the idea and then with good sense we embrace it. Thanks for stopping by Sarah, I appreciate it. PDF on the way.

      May 20, 2013 at 10:22 pm

  6. I think that when you add something that you are passionate about to your writing it is only natural that your passion shows through. It shows your knowledge and love for whatever it is. I think sometimes writers write what they believe will appeal or interest readers instead of what appeals or interests them. I love reading books when you can just feel the passion that the author has in their writing.

    May 20, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    • RJ, that’s so true about what you’re saying about the passion, but also about writers writing stuff that they think may appeal. In that case, you’re second guessing. But, if you write from the heart and not the head, I think the reader will get caught up in what feeds your soul as a person and a writer. So, the reader is getting a story filled with passion and a look at you as real person. Thanks so much for coming by and commenting. I appreciate it. 🙂

      May 20, 2013 at 11:31 pm

  7. It’s wonderful to see an author find their voice by writing about their passion. Experience is everything. I have to draw from real life or my writing feels flat.

    May 20, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    • Marsha, your writing is definitely not flat. It’s true experience is vital in writing and then inserting that into your writing makes it soar. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      May 21, 2013 at 5:10 am

  8. Such a great story and a reminder that following your heart can lead to wonderful writing. The book looks fantastic, Jadie. Cangrats!

    May 21, 2013 at 2:29 pm

  9. I’ve always loved horses. I remember, way back in fourth grade, having the librarian in our library tell me I was the only student to have read every horse book in their collection. 🙂 Of course, back then The Black Stallion series by Walter Farely was the big thing. So was Misty of Chincoteague by Marguerite Henry.

    Passion can be a binding link between authors and readers. The Harry Potter Series, Twilight Series, Lord of the Rings series, etc., were all books that ensnared passionate readers who faithfully read the books and then went on to see them in the movies.
    The wonderful thing about passion is that it never fully goes away, it just changes form. Today’s horse lover might be tomorrow’s sic-fi addict.

    For me, a primary element of passion is description. I like to be in the scene with the characters and that means lots of sensory elements. Detail is another key factor. As a horse lover, for instance, I know immediately if the author is inserting the animal as a prop or as a character. The passion is in the details. The same goes for dialogue. When Janet Evanovich released her first books featuring Stephanie Plum, I could feel her passion for the novels. It was there in the dialogue and again, description.

    So, maybe passion comes from the author creating a complete picture for the reader. From harnessing the writer’s tool box and sculpting a three-dimensional story that invokes excitement and anticipation in devoted readers and offers new readers the opportunity to discover what makes them feel alive.

    Love the cover of this book. Kudos to Jadie Jones for her success!

    Laurel Wilczek

    May 21, 2013 at 2:32 pm

  10. Really pretty cover. I love the colors.

    May 21, 2013 at 5:03 pm

  11. what a fabulous-sounding story and I LOVE that cover. For me, I was passionate about an idea – pretty girls are more than a pretty face, and tried to carry that theme delicately through my book without being heavy handed about it.

    May 21, 2013 at 6:26 pm

  12. marilynmuniz

    Life would be dull if we weren’t passionate about something. Congrats and love your book cover!

    May 21, 2013 at 9:21 pm

  13. Wow! I have three very horsey friends that I would love to connect with you and this book. Having grown up (in NYC) watching westerns on TV, I fantasized about being good with horses. My first (and only) experience chased that away, but I cherish those who get captured by the magic and power. Looking forward to reading your passion!
    m

    May 21, 2013 at 11:56 pm

  14. Wow I love all of these comments! Thank you so much for sharing. Inspiration is truly contagious.

    May 22, 2013 at 12:15 am

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

