With one foot in the fantasy world.

Today is a Gift!

mysterious birthday gift

January signals another glorious beginning, a gift to cherish or squander. It reminds me of Master Oogway, from Panda Kung Fu, quoting Eleanor Roosevelt, “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift; that’s why it’s called a present.”

Master Oogway

Yesterday is history. I find that statement cleansing with the washing away of ‘whatever did or did not happen yesterday.’  I am thus renewed. From yesterday, I can glean from my mistakes and my triumphs to make a better today.  At least, that’s the plan.

So, I started with goals, but this year I’m doing something different.  You know, the Einstein quote of doing something the same way will garner the same outcome.  Every. Flipping. Time.

Instead of making an endless list of things I want to accomplish, like I want to lose 10 pounds.  I’m writing goals with an end result in mind.  For example,  I am healthy and energetic.  I am eating healthy foods and having fun exercising.  The goals are written as an affirmation.  It’s not written as something to happen in the future, but is the state of being I am already in. Heh! Thinking positive here.  Don’t know how this will work, but I’m giving it a do.  Not trying, but doing as Yoda would recommend.

Gratitude-Jar

I’m also gathering up two glass jars and labeling one ‘happiness’ and the other ‘graditude’ to sit on my kitchen counter. If I may dip back into yesterday for a moment, there were times I could have used looking at a jar filled with moments of happiness and the joy of that ‘Yes’ pumping action.  I know, you know what I’m talking about. We easily forget the moments that make us smile, when something we don’t want crowds our vision.  It would have helped to see and read a jar containing scraps of paper filled with the good times to overcome the seemingly nonsense drowning me at the time. Besides, I believe the more I recognize the goodness in my life, more will be bestowed to me.  I got the idea for the jars from two writers, Elizabeth Gilbert and Terry Lynn Johnson.  Do check out their sites.

Well, this is my new beginning for 2014. Do you have any new rituals or old ones to share? Love to hear what they are.

Thanks for reading,

Elizabeth

PS: Posted this on Speculative Salon too.

13 responses

  1. Elizabeth, what a wonderful post! Thank you so much for sharing that. I took a class on happiness once and she talked about focusing on good things in the moment. Like, what does that good moment smell like? Taste like? Sound like?

    Writing the good moments down and putting them in a jar not only helps you focus on them, but also review them later to reconnect with that happiness.

    Your goals, too, sound like this commitment based culture my husband has been going on about. I really love this post, thank you!

    January 8, 2014 at 9:19 pm

  2. I love the duel jar idea. I plan on using a jar to collect positives that happen throughout my life during 2014. I’m encouraging my kiddos to do the same, and on Christmas Eve we’ll share a few of each. 🙂

    January 8, 2014 at 10:14 pm

  3. What a positive way to start your year. I love this. 🙂

    January 8, 2014 at 10:27 pm

  4. Samantha,

    What an interesting class! The idea that happiness or any feeling has a taste, smell or sound makes me think of synesthesia. I wanted one of my characters to have that talent but I didn’t feel I was being authentic. Would love to learn more about that class.

    What group would that be?

    Thank you for the double commenting, you’re the best.

    Elizabeth

    January 8, 2014 at 11:31 pm

  5. Sheri,

    First of all, congratulations on signing with Paula Munier of Talbott Notch. And I added the Writer’s Creed on my sidebar. Heh!

    That’s great that you’re getting the kids into catching the good moments. I believe having the constant visual will be a reminder to smile and breath deep in thanks.

    And thanks for dropping by, I appreciate it.

    Elizabeth

    January 8, 2014 at 11:56 pm

  6. Kelly,

    Thank you for stopping by. I know how busy you are with all your writing projects and now adding designing to boot. You go girl!

    January 9, 2014 at 12:01 am

  7. A lovely post. With such a positive additude you should have a wonderful year.

    January 9, 2014 at 3:37 am

    • Thank you. I’m counting on everyone I know, including myself to have a wonderful year.

      January 9, 2014 at 3:52 am

  8. I’ve never heard of anything like that before. But I think it’s a universal problem that we focus on troubles and forget to appreciate what we have. 🙂

    January 9, 2014 at 5:14 am

    • Lexa,

      First of all, congratulations on the release of your book, SOUL CUTTER. Yay!

      Focusing on what we want is the answer. That means our thoughts have to be in sync with what we want. Heh!

      Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate it.

      Elizabeth

      January 9, 2014 at 9:30 pm

  9. This is a great way to start the new year and a new twist on the whole resolution thing. Positivity is always an awesome thing to possess as a writer. Thanks for inspiring us to be positive and to accept the present as a present.

    January 10, 2014 at 5:52 am

    • Dawn,

      Thank you for the lovely comment. You made my day so much brighter. 🙂

      Elizabeth

      January 10, 2014 at 5:11 pm

  10. Great blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused
    .. Any suggestions? Bless you!

    October 12, 2014 at 5:35 am

I love your comments and will reply here and in your blog. Brazen of me to ask but would you subscribe to my blog.

